Meet Our Staff

David Cooke
David CookeDirector & Founder
David has been with Grow Appalachia since the start and believes now more than ever that this work is of great importance in the region.
  • 859-985-3941

  • cooked@berea.edu

Mark Walden
Mark WaldenProduction Efficiency Adviser
Mark began with Grow Appalachia in 2012 and currently delivers direct technical support to producers throughout the region.
  • 859-985-4178

  • waldenm@berea.edu

Candace Mullins
Candace MullinsAssociate Director
Candace started with Grow Appalachia in 2012 and manages fundraising, evaluations, program development, marketing and strategic planning.
  • 859-985-3687

  • mullinsc@berea.edu

Elora Overbey
Elora OverbeyProgram Associate
Elora provides administrative support to all Grow Appalachia initiatives and assists with communications and development.
  • 859-985-3195
  • overbeye@berea.edu
Martina Leforce
Martina LeforceBerea Kids Eat Coordinator
Martina coordinates the Berea Kids Eat program, a year-round feeding and nutritional education program for Berea youth.
  • 859-302-1522

  • leforcem@berea.edu

Chris McKenzie
Chris McKenzieSmall Farm Production Adviser
Chris works with small farm families in Eastern Kentucky to develop plans to increase their farm’s efficiency and profitability.
  • 859-302-3114

  • mckenziec@berea.edu

Matt Wilson
Matt WilsonSmall Farm Production Adviser
Matt works with small farm families in Eastern Kentucky to develop plans to increase their farm’s efficiency and profitability.
  • 859-302-3073

  • wilsonma@berea.edu

Kayla Preston
Kayla PrestonSocial Enterprise Manager
Kayla manages our social enterprise program, including high tunnel consultation and construction, fertilizer and garden supply sales.
  • 859-302-1174

  • prestonk@berea.edu

Terra Cash
Terra CashHigh Tunnel Assistant
Terra is the social enterprise program assistant. She manufactures and travels with Kayla building high tunnels around the region.
Nathaniel Fish
Nathaniel FishCurriculum Coordinator
Nathaniel is a Berea college student who works with our garden grants program. He collects data and resources from our partner sites and organizes them into a detailed instructional library.
  • fishn@berea.edu