Meet Our Staff

David Cooke
David CookeDirector & Founder
David has been with Grow Appalachia since the start and believes now more than ever that this work is of great importance in the region.
  • 859-985-3941

  • cooked@berea.edu

Candace Mullins
Candace MullinsAssociate Director
Candace started with Grow Appalachia in 2012 and manages fundraising, evaluations, program development, marketing and strategic planning.
  • 859-985-3687

  • mullinsc@berea.edu

Mark Walden
Mark WaldenProduction Efficiency Adviser
Mark began with Grow Appalachia in 2012 and currently delivers direct technical support to producers throughout the region.
  • 859-985-4178

  • waldenm@berea.edu

Matt Wilson
Matt WilsonSmall Farm Production Adviser
Matt works with small farm families in Eastern Kentucky to develop plans to increase their farm’s efficiency and profitability.
  • 859-302-3073

  • wilsonma@berea.edu

Chris McKenzie
Chris McKenzieSmall Farm Production Adviser
Chris works with small farm families in Eastern Kentucky to develop plans to increase their farm’s efficiency and profitability.
  • 859-302-3114

  • mckenziec@berea.edu

Martina Leforce
Martina LeforceBerea Kids Eat Coordinator
Martina coordinates the Berea Kid Eat Program, increasing summer and afterschool nutrition opportunities for Berea youth.
  • 859-302-1522

  • leforcem@berea.edu

Kayla Preston
Kayla PrestonSocial Enterprise Manager
Kayla manages our social enterprise program, including high tunnel consultation and construction, fertilizer and garden supply sales.
  • 859-302-1174

  • prestonk@berea.edu

Jackson Napier
Jackson NapierHigh Tunnel Assistant
Jackson is a program assistant with the social enterprise. He helps manufacture tunnels, design grower supplies and travels with Kayla building high tunnels around the region.
  • napiero@berea.edu

Terra Cash
Terra CashHigh Tunnel Assistant
Terra is the social enterprise program assistant. She manufactures and travels with Kayla building high tunnels around the region.